

The Tanganyika Law Society

The Bar Association Of Tanzania Mainland

NOTICE OF THE TANGANYIKA LAW SOCIETY GENERAL ELECTIONS, 2025.

1. NOTICE:

In accordance with Regulation 25(a) and (b) of the Tanganyika Law Society (Elections) Regulations, GN 598 of 2022, Notice is hereby given that the General Elections of the Tanganyika Law Society ("TLS" or "the Society") Zonal leaders and Association of Young Lawyers leaders will be held in May 2025; and Chapters leaders in April, 2025.

2. GENERAL ELECTIONS CALENDAR:

Wednesday, 16th or Thursday, 17th April, 2025:

Members from each Chapter to vote for the following positions:

- i. Chapter Convener;
- ii. Vice Chapter Convener;
- iii. Chapter Treasurer;
- iv. Chapter Representative to the AGM;
- v. Chairperson of the Chapter Probono Committee;
- vi. Chairperson of the Chapter CLE Committee;
- vii. Chairperson of the Chapter Members' welfare Committee;
- viii. Chairperson of the Chapter Ethics Committee and
- ix. Member representative in the Chapter EXCOM.

Chapters' elections will be held at their respective chapters during Chapter Annual Meeting to be held on either 16th or 17th April 2025 depending on chapter's convenience.

Wednesday, 07th May, 2025:

Members from the Association of Young Lawyers (AYL) to vote for the following positions:

- i. Vice Chairperson; and
- ii. Secretary

AYL elections will be held during the AYL Annual Meeting scheduled to be held on 07th May, 2025 in Arusha

Wednesday, 07th May, 2025:

Members from each Zone to vote for the following positions:

- i. Two Zonal AGM Representatives;
- ii. Zonal EXCOM member Senior Representative;
- iii. Zonal EXCOM member Young Lawyers Representative;
- iv. Zonal EXCOM member Female Lawyers Representative; and
- v. Zonal EXCOM member Members with Disability Representative.

Kindly take note that, for MZIZIMA Zone, there will be no election for the post of Zonal EXCOM member-Young Lawyers Representatives.

Chapter Zones' elections will be held during their respective Chapter Zone Annual Meeting scheduled to be held on 07^{th} May, 2025 in Arusha.

3. **NOMINATIONS:**

Nominations are now invited from members of the Society who are in good standing and who meet the requirements stipulated in Regulations 18, 19 and 20 of the Elections Regulations GN 598 of 2022.

Nomination Form can be obtained from the TLS Secretariat or via the TLS website. Please see below link:-

https://tls.or.tz/2025-election/

4. VETTING:

Upon completion of the nomination process, the Electoral Committee shall vet the members who have been nominated and shall then announce the qualified candidates and the positions for which they are vying for. Once the list of qualified candidates is announced, members or nominees with the objection will then be allowed to lodge their objection with the Electoral Appeals Committee for considerations.

5. CAMPAIGNS:

The Committee shall announce the date for elections campaigns.

Candidates and their supporters shall refrain from embarking on campaigning until the Committee announces the campaign commencement date.

Candidates shall, during elections campaign and on elections day, strictly abide by the Regulations and the directions issued by the Committee.

The Society is an Equal Opportunity organization and for that reason, the Committee encourages all members who seek various positions to do so irrespective of their gender or disability.

Nomination and CV in respect of all elective positions should reach the Secretary of the Electoral Committee, Mr. Nelson Frank at the TLS office located at Chato Street, Plot No. 21, Regent Estate, Dar es Salaam, or through email address: nfrank@tls.or.tz copy to info@tls.or.tz not later than **5.00pm** on **Monday, 03rd March, 2025.** Each person presenting a Nomination Form shall obtain Receipt from TLS to signify that he or she has lodged the Nomination Form at the TLS Secretariat on the date shown in the Receipt.

Kindly direct your inquiries in respect of elections to the Secretary of the Committee, Mr. Nelson Frank through his email address nfrank@tls.or.tz or mobile number 0779 626298.

Issued on 11th day of February, 2025 on behalf of the Electoral Committee.

Hon. Judge (Rtd) Joaquine De-Mello

CHAIRPERSON ELECTORAL COMMITTEE Mr. Nelson Frank
SECRETARY
ELECTORAL COMMITTEE