

The Tanganyika Law Society

The Bar Association Of Tanzania Mainland

2024 TANGANYIKA LAW SOCIETY GENERAL ELECTIONS:

EXTENSION OF DEADLINE TO RECEIVE NOMINATIONS

Reference is made to the Call for Nominations that was issued on 8th day of May, 2024 through TLS official email and Mwananchi News Paper.

Following the closing of the nominations period and having assessed sufficiency of the number of nominated candidates, the Electoral Committee concluded that there are no enough candidates in that regard for Election in respect of all elective positions.

Regulation 25 (j) of the Tanganyika Law Society (Elections) Regulations, GN 598 of 2022 vests power to the Electoral Committee to extend time for nominations.

Thus, the Committee hereby announces that it is extending the deadline for receiving nomination in respect of all electoral positions as herein mentioned:

General Elections:

- i. President:
- ii. Vice President; and
- iii. Honorary Treasurer;
- iv. Two Representatives in the Council for Legal Education;
- v. Trustees of the DATF; and
- vi. Trustees of the WAKILI TRUST

Zonal Leaders:

a) Zonal Leader (Council member) for:

- i. Mzizima Zone;
- ii. Bagamoyo Zone;
- iii. Western Zone;
- iv. Northern Zone;
- v. Central Zone:
- vi. Southern Zone; and
- vii. Lake Zone

b) Mzizima Zone EXCOM member-Young Lawyer Representatives

Association of the Young Lawyers (AYL):

i. Chairperson of the AYL (Council member)

Candidates and their supporters shall refrain from embarking on campaigning until the Committee announces the commencement date.

The Society is an equal opportunity organization and for that reason, the Committee encourages all members who seek various positions to do so irrespective of their gender or disability.

All nominations accompanied by CVs of the nominees in respect of all elective positions should reach the Secretary of the Electoral Committee, Mr. Nelson Frank at the TLS office located at Chato Street, Plot No. 21, Regent Estate, Dar es Salaam, or through email address: nfrank@tls.or.tz copy to info@tls.or.tz not later than 5.00pm on Thursday, 06th June, 2024. Each person presenting a Nomination Form shall obtain Receipt from TLS to signify that he or she has lodged the Nomination Form at the TLS Secretariat on the date shown in the Receipt.

Kindly direct your inquiries in respect of elections to the Secretary of the Committee, Nelson Frank through his email address nfrank@tls.or.tz or mobile number 0779 626298.

Issued on 31st day of May, 2024 on behalf of the Electoral Committee.

Hon. Judge (Rtd) Joaquine De-Mello CHAIRPERSON

ELECTORAL COMMITTEE

Adv. Nelson Frank
SECRETARY
ELECTORAL COMMITTE